gnome-release-notes 2.12 - en to zh translation catalogue (197 entries)

en: What's New For Developers
zh: 针对开发者的更新

en: The GNOME 2.12 Development Platform provides a stable base for third-party software developers, and for the GNOME Desktop itself. GNOME 2.12 adds some user-visible and API improvements, while maintaining backwards compatibilty and API-stability. It also makes it easier to develop applications that run on Unix and Windows, and use important standards to interoperate with other desktops.
zh: 除了为 GNOME 桌面自身提供稳定的基础之外，GNOME 2.12 开发平台还为特别适合第三方软件开发者。在保持向后兼容性和 API 稳定性的同时，GNOME 2.12 增加了一些为用户可见的改进以及 API 的改进。您还会发现，开发能够运行于 Unix 和 Windows 的应用程序变得更加轻松，而由于与重要标准更加融合，GNOME 与其它桌面的互操作性也得以增强。

en: GTK+ Improvements
zh: GTK+ 的改进

en: GTK+ now uses the freedesktop Cairo drawing API, making custom widget drawing easier to implement and allowing new effects. In the near future, this should allow GNOME to use new graphics effects and take advantage of hardware acceleration, as well as improving our printing APIs.
zh: 现在，GTK+ 采用 freedesktop 的 Cairo 绘图 API，这使得自定义部件的实现和新效果绘制更加容易。不久的将来，GNOME 就可以使用新的图形效果并充分利用硬件加速，同时还可改进我们的打印 API。

en: Drag and drop handling has been improved and now previews blocks of text when you drag them.
zh: 拖放操作已经做了改进，在拖曳文本时可直接预览文本块。

en: In GNOME 2.12, <ulink url="http://www.gtk.org">GTK+</ulink> 2.8 provides some interesting user-visible features, such as <placeholder-1/>
zh: 在 GNOME 2.12 中，<ulink url="http://www.gtk.org">GTK+</ulink> 2.8 提供了一些有趣的，用户可直接看到的功能特性，例如<placeholder-1/>

en: GtkFileChooser can now display a file-overwrite confirmation dialog when in save mode.
zh: 现在，GtkFileChooser 处于保存模式时，可以显示文件覆盖的确认对话框。

en: GtkWindow can have an urgency hint, instructing the window manager to, for instance, flash the window title.
zh: GtkWindow 可以向窗口管理起发送紧急提示，比如，让窗口标题发生闪烁。

en: GtkIconView now implements the GtkLayout interface, and can render items via GtkCellRendererCells.
zh: 现在，GtkIconView 实现了 GtkLayout 接口，可通过 GtkCellRendererCells 来渲染条目。

en: GtkTextView now allows you to set a background color for pargraphs, and you can now skip over invisible text when iterating.
zh: 现在，GtkTextView 可以让您设置段落的背景颜色，枚举时可跳过不可见的文本。

en: GtkScrolledWindow has functions to get the scrollbars.
zh: GtkScrolledWindow 拥有可获得滚动条的函数。

en: GtkMenu now supports vertical (rotated) menus, and it can ignore keyboard focus, for special applications such as the onscreen keyboard.
zh: 现在，GtkMenu 支持垂直(旋转的)菜单，在像屏幕键盘类的特殊应用程序中也可以忽略键盘焦点。

en: GtkEntryCompletion's popup menu may now be wider than the Entry, and the popup can be avoided when there is only a single match.
zh: 现在，GtkEntryCompletion 的弹出菜单可以超过条目的宽度，而在只有一个匹配项时，弹出菜单也可隐藏。

en: GtkAboutDialog's license text can now be wrapped.
zh: 现在，GtkAboutDialog 的许可文本已经被封装。

en: GtkToolButton can now use named icons from icon themes, and these iscons may also be used when dragging.
zh: 现在，GtkToolButton 可以使用由图标主题指定的图标，而且在拖曳之时也使用该图标。

en: GtkSizeGroup can ignore hidden widgets.
zh: GtkSizeGroup 可以忽略隐藏的窗口部件。

en: In addition to these changes, which all GTK-based applications can use without recompilation, several new APIs have been added to make developement even easier. These include: <placeholder-1/>
zh: 另外，所以基于 GTK 的应用程序无需重新编译就可使用，为了开发的方便，已经添加了一些新的 API。它们包括：<placeholder-1/>

en: See also the full list of the <ulink url="http://developer.gnome.org/doc/API/2.0/gtk/ix06.html">new API in GTK+ 2.8</ulink>.
zh: 也请参看完整的 <ulink url="http://developer.gnome.org/doc/API/2.0/gtk/ix06.html">GTK+ 2.8 中新有的 API</ulink> 清单。

en: Cross-platform
zh: 跨平台

en: The GTK+ library is already popular among developers who need to support multiple platforms, including Microsoft Windows as well as Linux and UNIX. For instance, artists may edit their images using GIMP and Inkscape on either Linux or Windows.
zh: GTK+ 库已流行于需要支持多平台的众多开发者之中，这些平台包括 Microsoft Windows、Linux 和 UNIX。例如，艺术家们可可以在 Linux 或者 Windows 上使用 GIMP 和 Inkscape 来编辑图像。

en: And now many more GNOME libraries, including ORBit2, libbonobo, libgnome, libbonoboui, libgnomeui and gnome-vfs, can build on Microsoft Windows, making it easier to build and distribute GNOME applications on that platform. While this support is not yet complete, it may be sufficient for some applications, and is expected to be complete in the next release of GTK+ and GNOME.
zh: 现在，很多 GNOME 库，包括 ORBit2，libbonobo，libgnome，libbonoboui，libgnomeui 还有 gnome-vfs，都能在 Microsoft Windows 上使用，这样，GNOME 应用程序在该平台的创建和发行就更容易了。虽然，这种支持仍未全部完成，但对某些程序而言，这已经足够了。完整的支持有望在 GTK+ 和 GNOME 的下一个版本发布时完成。

en: Standards Compliance
zh: 标准的遵循

en: GNOME works closely with groups such as <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Standards">freedesktop.org</ulink>. Standards support is a big plus for GNOME developers and users. Interoperability support improves the user experience by allowing GNOME, KDE, and other applications to work together more easily, and following open specifications helps ensure that user data is not trapped in proprietary formats.
zh: GNOME 与众多团体，如 <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Standards">freedesktop.org</ulink> 紧密合作。这种合作为 GNOME 用户带来的最大好处就是同时支持多项标准。互操作性的支持使得用户能轻松地让 GNOME、KDE 及其它应用程序一起工作，同时，遵循各种开放的规范有助于用户数据避免陷入私有格式的泥沼之中。

en: GNOME developers are working hard with other members of the free software community through Freedesktop.org on the development of standards to allow interoperability. Those standards include: <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/shared-mime-info-spec">shared MIME database</ulink>, <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/icon-theme-spec">icon themes</ulink>, <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/recent-file-spec">recent files</ulink>, <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Standards_2fmenu_2dspec">menus</ulink>, <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Standards_2fdesktop_2dentry_2dspec">desktop entries</ulink>, <ulink url="http://triq.net/~jens/thumbnail-spec/index.html">thumbnail management</ulink>, and the <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/systemtray-spec">system tray</ulink> specifications. In addition, GNOME supports <ulink url="http://www.omg.org/">CORBA</ulink>, <ulink url="http://www.w3.org/XML/">XML</ulink>, <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/XDND">Xdnd</ulink>, <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/wm-spec">EWMH</ulink>, <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/xembed-spec">XEMBED</ulink>, <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/xsettings-spec">XSETTINGS</ulink>, and <ulink url="http://www.xfree86.org/current/xsmp.html">XSMP</ulink>.
zh: GNOME 开发者正通过 Freedesktop.org 与自由软件社区的其他成员一道致力于开放标准的建设以增强软件之间的互操作性。这些标准包括：<ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/shared-mime-info-spec">共享的 MIME 数据库</ulink>、<ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/icon-theme-spec">图标主题</ulink>、<ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/recent-file-spec">近来用过的文件</ulink>、<ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Standards_2fmenu_2dspec">菜单</ulink>、<ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Standards_2fdesktop_2dentry_2dspec">桌面条目</ulink>、<ulink url="http://triq.net/~jens/thumbnail-spec/index.html">缩略图管理</ulink>以及<ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/systemtray-spec">系统托盘</ulink>规范。此外，GNOME 还支持 <ulink url="http://www.omg.org/">CORBA</ulink>、<ulink url="http://www.w3.org/XML/">XML</ulink>、<ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/XDND">Xdnd</ulink>、<ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/wm-spec">EWMH</ulink>、<ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/xembed-spec">XEMBED</ulink>、<ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Standards/xsettings-spec">XSETTINGS</ulink> 和 <ulink url="http://www.xfree86.org/current/xsmp.html">XSMP</ulink>。

en: What's New For Administrators
zh: 针对系统管理员的更新

en: GNOME 2.12 has new features to make life easier for system administrators, including users who manage their own computers.
zh: GNOME 2.12 有一些新的功能特性可以让系统管理员活得更惬意，当然包括那些需要自己管理计算机的用户。

en: Improvements for Sabayon
zh: 为 Sabayon 而做的改进

en: As part of the work to support the <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/projects/sabayon/">Sabayon</ulink> user profile manager, GNOME startup reads and touches fewer settings. Besides small performance gains, this means that GNOME 2.12 is easier to administer than ever, particularly in combination with Sabayon, which while not officially part of GNOME, makes setting up user profiles for GNOME very easy.
zh: 作为支持 <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/projects/sabayon/">Sabayon</ulink> 用户配置文件管理器工作的组成部分，GNOME 启动时会读取、接触更少的设置。除了获得小小的执行性能提高之外，这意味着 GNOME 2.12 比以前更容易管理。特别是结合 Sabayon 之后，为 GNOME 设置用户配置文件就成为一件非常轻松的事情了。Sabayon 目前还不是 GNOME 的正式部件。

en: Menu Editor
zh: 菜单编辑器

en: GNOME's Applications menu now uses the freedesktop menu specification, so applications can be installed easily regardless of the desktop environment used. GNOME 2.12 has a simple tool for editing the menu and, because the infrastructure is standards compliant, other 3rd-party tools are becoming available.
zh: GNOME 的应用程序菜单采用 freedesktop 菜单规范，这样可以轻松安装应用程序，而不用考虑所用的具体的桌面环境。GNOME 2.12 有个简洁的工具让您编辑菜单，而且，因为基础部分是遵循标准的，所以有用的第三方工具也开始出现。

en: The Menu Editor
zh: 菜单编辑器

en: The Menu Editor.
zh: 菜单编辑器。

en: System Tools
zh: 系统工具

en: The system tools allow you to configure your system clock and your network connection, as well as manage the users and groups on your system. At present, these system tools are most appropriate for single computers rather than large networks of computers.
zh: 系统工具允许您配置系统时钟和网络连接，也可以管理系统中的用户和群组。目前，这些系统工具比较适合于单机，而非大型网络中计算机。

en: GNOME 2.12 provides a new Services Administration tool, which allows you to choose which services will be started when the computer starts.
zh: GNOME 2.12 提供了一个全新的服务管理工具，允许您对计算机启动时启动的服务进行选择。

en: The Services Administration tool
zh: 服务管理工具

en: The Services Administration tool.
zh: 服务管理工具。

en: Log Viewer
zh: 日志查看器

en: The GNOME log viewer makes investigation easier by showing all logs in one tabbed window and allowing you to browse logs in a calendar. The new version navigator also helps when viewing archived logs.
zh: 通过在标签式窗口中显示日志，以及在日历中直接浏览日志，GNOME 日志查看器让调查工作更轻松。新版本的导航器也有助于查看已经存档的日志。

en: The Log Viewer
zh: 日志查看器

en: The Log Viewer, with calendar.
zh: 带日历的日志查看器。

en: What's New For Users
zh: 针对用户的更新

en: Desktop
zh: 桌面

en: Look and Feel
zh: 感观

en: GNOME 2.12 introduces a new standard theme, also known as "ClearLooks", making your desktop more attractive while remaining simple and uncluttered.
zh: GNOME 2.12 引入了新的标准主题，也就是知名的“ClearLooks”，让桌面更富魅力的同时保持了简单和整洁。

en: Attractive, friendly, simple: the new default theme.
zh: 充满魅力，亲切的，简洁的：新默认主题。

en: The new default theme
zh: 新的默认主题

en: The File Manager
zh: 文件管理器

en: The file manager, also known as Nautilus, has several user interface improvements in GNOME 2.12. Most noticeably, the list view can now show files in directories, allowing you to navigate down to a sub-folder and open a new folder window only when necessary. Also for your convenience, the Bookmarks menu now shows the same locations as the File Chooser dialog.
zh: 文件管理器，也就是 Nautilus ，在 GNOME 2.12 中对其用户界面做了有多处改进。最引人注目的是列表视图可以显示目录中的文件，也可以导航到子文件夹中，只有在必要的时候才开启一个文件夹新窗口。同样为了方便用户，书签菜单显示的位置与文件选择器对话框中的是一致的。

en: In GNOME 2.12, dragging text from an application to a folder window will save you time by creating a new text document. You'll also notice that GNOME now shows a preview of the text being dragged, instead of just an icon.
zh: 在 GNOME 2.12，从应用程序拖曳文本到文件夹窗口将会创建一个新的文本文档，这样可以显著节省您的时间。在拖曳文本的同时 GNOME 会显示文本的预览，而非之前的图标显示。

en: clean-cut and powerful: the Nautilus file manager
zh: 整洁清晰而且强大：Nautilus 文件管理器

en: The file manager
zh: 文件管理器

en: Places and Bookmarks may be displayed in a sidepane.
zh: 位置和书签可以在侧边栏中显示。

en: The location is now shown with the GNOME's path bar instead of a text entry. The text path is still available via the Control-L keyboard shortcut.
zh: 位置显示采用了 GNOME 的路径栏取替了以前的文本输入框。文本的路径输入框则通过键盘快捷键 Ctrl+L 激活。

en: There are also major improvements to the browse mode, making it similar to GNOME's existing File Chooser dialog: <placeholder-1/>
zh: 浏览模式做了重大改进，外观更接近 GNOME 的现有文件选择器对话框：<placeholder-1/>

en: GNOME's simple CD-burning feature can now copy Audio CDs as well as data CDs. Just right-click on the CD after inserting it.
zh: 现在，GNOME 简洁的 CD 烧录功能既可复制音频 CD，也可复制数据 CD。所要做的就是在插入 CD 后，用右键点选。

en: Clipboard
zh: 剪贴板

en: GNOME now remembers data that you copy, even when you close the window from which it was copied. This long-standing problem has finally been solved without the performance problems usually associated with clipboard daemons, by allowing applications to explicitly request the use of this feature.
zh: 现在，不管您是否关闭所复制数据的来源窗口，GNOME 都会记住复制的数据。通过应用程序发出使用该功能的请求，这个长期存在的问题最终通过剪贴板守护程序得到解决，同时并避免了性能问题。

en: The Panel
zh: 面板

en: The panel, which you normally see at the top and bottom of the screen, allows you to start applications and control various aspects of your environment. In GNOME 2.12 vertical panels with menus are possible, thanks to the rotated menus.
zh: 面板，平常出现在屏幕上下方，它允许您启动应用程序和控制环境的各个方面。受益于可旋转的菜单，GNOME 2.12 中带菜单的垂直面板已经非常好用了。

en: You might also notice that applications may now flash their names in the Window List, to indicate that they are ready. For instance, an instant messenger application could flash its icon when a friend sends a message.
zh: 您也许注意到了应用程序可以通过在窗口列表中的闪烁来表明它们已就绪。例如，即时通讯应用程序可以在好友发送信息时闪烁自己的图标。

en: The GNOME Panel
zh: GNOME 面板

en: A vertical panel
zh: 垂直面板

en: Applications
zh: 应用程序

en: Video Player
zh: 视频播放器

en: GNOME's "Totem" video player, uses GNOME's GStreamer multimedia framework. In GNOME 2.12, the video player now has a playlist sidebar instead of a separate window, and supports DVD menus and subtitles.
zh: GNOME 的“Totem”视频播放器，采用了 GNOME 的 GStreamer 多媒体框架。在 GNOME 2.12 中，该视频播放器采用播放列表侧边栏来取代之前的独立窗口，并支持 DVD 菜单和字幕。

en: The video player
zh: 视频播放器

en: The Totem video player.
zh: 视频播放器。

en: CD Ripping
zh: CD 抓取

en: GNOME's CD ripper easily extracts audio from CDs for later playback on your PC or portable music player. And now, you can play tracks before extracting them. This latest version can also extract files to networked servers or removable devices, using GNOME's VFS system.
zh: GNOME 的 CD 抓取可轻松提取 CD 音频以供 PC 或便携式音乐播放器进行回放。如今，提取之前可以先试播放音轨。最新版的 CD 抓取器通过 GNOME 的虚拟文件系统(GNOME-VFS)，能够直接把文件提取到联网的服务器或者可移动设备上。

en: The audio extractor
zh: 音频提取机

en: The audio extractor.
zh: 音频提取机。

en: Web Browser
zh: Web 浏览器

en: A Find Bar, as seen in Firefox, and previously available as an Epiphany extension. This allows you to find text on the page, without hiding the page behind a dialog window.
zh: 类似 Firefox 中的查找栏，曾是 Epiphany 的扩展部分。依靠它可以直接在页面中查找文字，不再出现对话窗口把页面遮住的情形。

en: Clearer error messages, shown directly in the browser.
zh: 更清晰的出错信息，可以直接显示在浏览器中。

en: Use of the standard GNOME printing system.
zh: 采用标准的 GNOME 打印系统。

en: Bookmarks can be easily shared over the network.
zh: 书签可以在网络中轻松共享。

en: GNOME's "Epiphany" web browser is based on Mozilla yet integrates fully with the GNOME desktop environment. Improvements in 2.12 include <placeholder-1/>
zh: GNOME 的“Epiphany” Web 浏览器基于 Mozilla，但也与 GNOME 桌面环境完全整合。在 2.12 中它的改进包括 <placeholder-1/>

en: The web browser
zh: Web 浏览器

en: The web browser.
zh: Web 浏览器。

en: GNOME's integrated Email and Groupware client, Evolution, supports traditional mail setups as well as Novell Groupwise and Microsoft Exchange. With Evolution you can read, write, and manage your emails, contacts, and calendar events.
zh: Evolution 是 GNOME 集成的电子邮件和群件客户端，它支持传统的邮件设置，也支持 Novell Groupwise 和 Microsoft Exchange。通过 Evolution，您可以读写和管理您的电子邮件、联系人和日历事件。

en: In GNOME 2.12 evolution now has an easier-to-use menu layout and an improved attachments bar, and allows inline PGP encryption and PGP signatures. In addition, the calendar now allows delegation of your meeting attendance.
zh: 现在，在 GNOME 2.12 中 Evolution 有了更好用的菜单布局，附件栏也做了改进，允许内嵌的 PGP 加密 和 PGP 签名。 另外，日历程序可以做与会人代理。

en: Groupwise proxy and IMAP accounts are now supported, and some compatibility problems were solved for people also using Mozilla Thunderbird with IMAP.
zh: Groupwise 代理和 IMAP 账号也得到了支持，同时也为通过 Mozilla Thunderbird 使用 IMAP 的用户解决了一些兼容问题。

en: The email client
zh: 邮件客户端

en: The Evolution email client.
zh: Evolution 邮件客户端。

en: Control Center
zh: 控制中心

en: About Me
zh: 关于我

en: GNOME now has a new About Me control panel in which you can enter your personal details, such as your telephone numbers, address, email address, and instant-messenger IDs, instead of repeating the information in several applications. You can also change your password here.
zh: 现在 GNOME 有个新的“关于我”控制面板，可以输入个人详细资料，比如电话号码，地址，电子邮件地址，和即时通讯的 ID，取替了在多个程序中重复的信息。这里也可以更改自己的密码。

en: The About Me control panel.
zh: 关于我控制面板。

en: Mouse Preferences
zh: 鼠标属性

en: The Mouse Preferences control panel now allows you to change your cursor theme.
zh: 现在，可以在鼠标属性控制面板中改变鼠标指针的主题。

en: The Mouse Preferences control panel, showing cursor themes.
zh: 正显示鼠标指针主题的鼠标属性控制面板。

en: Utilities
zh: 实用工具

en: The GNOME utilities have some improvements, such as:
zh: GNOME 实用工具也有一些改进，例如：

en: Document Viewer
zh: 文档查看器

en: GNOME 2.12 has a new document viewer, also known as "Evince;" to replace the previously separate PDF and .ps document viewers. This new viewer is simpler and more convenient, with a useful search feature and the ability to show several pages at once.
zh: GNOME 2.12 拥有一个全新的文档查看器，也就是知名的“Evince”，取替之前独立的 PDF 和 .ps 文档查看器。这个新的文档查看器具有查找功能和一次显示多个页面的能力，它更简洁，更方便好用。

en: The document viewer.
zh: 文档查看器。

en: Image Viewer
zh: 图像查看器

en: The GNOME image viewer can now show pictures with color correction, using ICC profiles.
zh: GNOME 图像查看器通过使用 ICC 特性描述文件，可以显示色彩矫正的图像。

en: The image viewer.
zh: 图像查看器。

en: Help Viewer
zh: 帮助查看器

en: GNOME's Help Viewer, Yelp, now uses the same engine as Epiphany, the web browser. The look, feel, speed and stability of Yelp have been vastly improved.
zh: Yelp，GNOME 的帮助查看器，如今采用与 Epiphany Web 浏览器相同的引擎。Yelp 的感观，速度和稳定性都大大的提高了。

en: Yelp also has improved support for locale specific formatting, allowing documentation to be rendered using language specific formatting rules, an excellent complement to the new documentation translation system, that allows translators to translate help documents as easily as applications.
zh: Yelp 也在本地特殊格式化的支持方面做了提升，文档可使用语言特殊格式化规则来渲染，还有一个极好的新文档翻译系统，让翻译者翻译帮助文档就像翻译应用程序一样简便。

en: The help viewer.
zh: 帮助查看器。

en: Search
zh: 搜索

en: The GNOME search tool now shows image thumbnails instead of just generic icons.
zh: GNOME 搜索工具现在显示图像的缩略图，而非以前的普通图标。

en: The search tool, showing image thumbnails.
zh: 搜索工具，正显示图像的缩略图。

en: Dictionary
zh: 字典

en: The GNOME Dictionary now has a simplified user interface and presents the entries in an easier-to-read layout. You may now select the fonts used to show entries.
zh: 现在，GNOME 字典有一个简单的用户界面，显示条目的布局也更加利于阅读。如果您愿意，也可以选择不同的字体来显示条目。

en: The dictionary.
zh: 字典。

en: Games
zh: 游戏

en: GNOME's games put extra fun in the desktop. The Mines game has some improvements in GNOME 2.12 - for instance, the first click is guaranteed to clear a useful number of squares so you don't have to blindly click and hope you don't hit a mine, and an explosion graphic is drawn when you set off a mine.
zh: GNOME 游戏为桌面带来更多的乐趣。扫雷游戏在 GNOME 2.12 中得到了一些改进，比如，第一次点击时，一定会清除出有用的区域，这样就无需盲目点击。同时，希望您不要踩到地雷，引爆地雷时会显示爆炸的图像。

en: Mines
zh: 扫雷

en: The Mines game.
zh: 扫雷游戏。

en: Installing GNOME 2.12
zh: 安装 GNOME 2.12

en: For GNOME 2.12 we have a LiveCD, available from <ulink url="http://gnome.org/projects/livecd/">gnome.org/projects/livecd/</ulink>. The LiveCD allows you to try a full GNOME desktop on Linux without installing anything on your hard drive. This is the best way to see for yourself what's new.
zh: 我们在 <ulink url="http://gnome.org/projects/livecd/">gnome.org/projects/livecd/</ulink> 上提供了一套 GNOME 2.12 的 LiveCD。通过这张 LiveCD，可以在 Linux 上试用完整的 GNOME 桌面，而且不用在硬盘上安装任何东西。这是了解 GNOME 新变化的最佳途径。

en: For actual use, we recommend that you install official packages, such as those for your Linux distribution. Vendors are likely to package GNOME 2.12 relatively quickly, and to release new versions soon that include GNOME 2.12.
zh: 对于真正的用户，我们建议安装您使用的 Linux 发行版的官方软件包。供应商应该很快就会为 GNOME 2.12 打包，并发布包含 GNOME 2.12 的新版本。

en: If you are brave and patient, and would like to build GNOME from source code to test the very latest versions and to provide feedback and improvements, we recommend a build tool such as the <ulink url="http://cipherfunk.org/garnome/">GARNOME</ulink> utility, for building from released tarballs, and <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Software/jhbuild">jhbuild</ulink>, for building from CVS.
zh: 如果您为了测试最新的版本，提供反馈和改进建议的目的，希望从源代码的基础上构建 GNOME，我们建议使用构建工具，比如 <ulink url="http://cipherfunk.org/garnome/">GARNOME</ulink> 工具从发布版本的打包源代码来构建 GNOME，或者是直接从 CVS 来构建整个 GNOME 的 <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Software/jhbuild">jhbuild</ulink> 工具。

en: Sysadmin, User, and Accessibility Guides
zh: 系统管理员，用户及易用性指南

en: Thanks to the efforts of the <ulink url="http://developer.gnome.org/projects/gdp/">GNOME Documentation Project</ulink>, GNOME 2.12 comes with comprehensive and professional documentation. Careful attention has been taken to detail using free software's most complete <ulink url="http://developer.gnome.org/documents/style-guide/">documentation style guide</ulink>. As in GNOME 2.10, each application shipped with GNOME 2.12 includes full user documentation.
zh: 感谢 <ulink url="http://developer.gnome.org/projects/gdp/">GNOME 文档项目</ulink>，正是他们的努力才让 GNOME 2.12 拥有全面而且专业的文档。所有的文档都是按照自由软件的完整的<ulink url="http://developer.gnome.org/documents/style-guide/">文档风格指南</ulink>精心编写。同 GNOME 2.10 一样，GNOME 2.12 的每个应用程序都有相应的完整的用户文档。

en: Learn to how to use GNOME with the Desktop User Guide. The User Guide and other documentation, including guides to system administration and GNOME's accessibility features, can be found on the <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/learn/">GNOME Learn page</ulink>.
zh: 通过《桌面用户指南》可以学习 GNOME 的使用。用户指南和其它文档，包括系统管理指南，GNOME 的易用性特性等文档，都可以在 <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/learn/">GNOME 学园</ulink>找到。

en: Internationalization
zh: 国际化

en: Thanks to members of the worldwide <ulink url="http://developer.gnome.org/projects/gtp/">GNOME Translation Project</ulink>, under the leadership of Christian Rose and Danilo Šegan, GNOME 2.12 offers support for 43 languages (at least 80 percent of strings translated).
zh: 感谢成员遍布世界各地的 <ulink url="http://developer.gnome.org/projects/gtp/">GNOME 翻译项目</ulink>，在 Christian Rose 和 Kjartan Maraas 的领导下，通过这些成员的努力，GNOME 2.12 提供 43 种语言的支持(至少有 80% 的词条已被翻译)。

en: Albanian (5 million speakers)
zh: 阿尔巴尼亚语（500 万人）

en: Brazilian Portuguese (175 million)
zh: 巴西葡萄牙语（1 亿 7500 万）

en: Bulgarian (9 million)
zh: 保加利亚语（900 万）

en: Catalan (7 million)
zh: 加泰罗尼亚语（700 万）

en: Chinese Simplified (over 1 billion)
zh: 简体中文（超过 10 亿）

en: Chinese Traditional (40 million)
zh: 繁体中文（4000 万）

en: Czech (11 million)
zh: 捷克语（1100 万）

en: Danish (5.3 million)
zh: 丹麦语（530 万）

en: Dutch (over 21 million)
zh: 荷兰语（超过 210 万）

en: English (341 million)
zh: 英语（3 亿 4100 万）

en: Finnish (over 5 million)
zh: 芬兰语（超过 500 万）

en: French (over 75 million)
zh: 法语（超过 7500 万）

en: Galician (3 million)
zh: 加利西亚语（300 万）

en: German (100 million)
zh: 德语（1 亿）

en: Greek (15 million)
zh: 希腊语（1500 万）

en: Gujarati (46 million)
zh: 古吉拉特语（4600 万）

en: Hindi (370 million)
zh: 北印度语（3 亿 7000 万）

en: Hungarian (14.5 million)
zh: 匈牙利语（1450 万）

en: Indonesian (230 million)
zh: 印度尼西亚语（2 亿 3000 万）

en: Italian (60 million)
zh: 意大利语（6000 万）

en: Japanese (over 125 million)
zh: 日语（超过 1 亿 2500 万）

en: Korean (75 million)
zh: 韩语（7500 万）

en: Lithuanian (4 million)
zh: 立陶宛语（400 万）

en: Macedonian (2 million)
zh: 马其顿语（200 万）

en: Malay (over 17 million)
zh: 马来西亚语 （超过 1700 万）

en: Nepali (16 million)
zh: 尼泊尔语（1600 万）

en: Norwegian Bookmal (5 million)
zh: Norwegian Bookmal（500 万）

en: Polish (44 million)
zh: 波兰语（4400 万）

en: Portuguese (43 million)
zh: 葡萄牙语（4300 万）

en: Punjabi (60 million)
zh: Punjabi 语（6000 万）

en: Romanian (26 million)
zh: 罗马尼亚语（2600 万）

en: Russian (170 million)
zh: 俄语（1 亿 7000 万）

en: Serbian (10 million)
zh: 塞尔维亚语（1000 万）

en: Slovak (5 million)
zh: 斯洛伐克语（500 万）

en: Spanish (over 350 million)
zh: 西班牙语（超过 3 亿 5000 万）

en: Swedish (9 million)
zh: 瑞典语（900 万）

en: Tamil (61 million)
zh: 泰米尔语（6100 万）

en: Thai (20 million)
zh: 泰国语（2000 万）

en: Turkish (150 million)
zh: 土耳其语（1 亿 5000 万）

en: Ukrainian (50 million)
zh: 乌克兰语（5000 万）

en: Vietnamese (68 million)
zh: 越南语（6800 万）

en: Welsh (575,000)
zh: 威尔士语（6000 万）

en: Xhosa (7 million)
zh: Xhosa（700 万）

en: Supported languages: <placeholder-1/>
zh: 支持的语言：<placeholder-1/>

en: Note that Galician, Estonian, Indonesian, Macedonian, Nepali, Slovak, Vietnamese, Thai, and Xhosa are new supported languages in GNOME 2.12, thanks to the hard work of their translators. Also worthy of mention is that British English and Canadian English are also supported.
zh: 加利西亚语，爱沙尼亚语，印度尼西亚语，马其顿语尼泊尔语斯洛伐克语，越南语，泰国语，还有 Xhosa 是新的被 GNOME 2.12 支持的语言，感谢其翻译人员所作的艰苦工作。同时值得一提的是 GNOME 2.12 也支持英国英语和加拿大英语。

en: Many other languages are partially supported, with more than half of their strings translated.
zh: 许多其他语言被部分地支持，过半数的词条已经被翻译。

en: GNOME 2.12 Release Notes
zh: GNOME 2.12 发布通告

en: The GNOME Desktop
zh: GNOME 桌面

en: GNOME 2.12 is the latest version of the popular, multi-platform free GNOME desktop environment, providing all the tools a computer user needs, and a platform for software developers.
zh: GNOME 2.12 是广受欢迎，能在多种平台上运行的自由桌面环境 GNOME 的最新发布版本，它不但为计算机用户准备了所有必须的工具，而且为软件开发者准备了一个开发平台。

en: GNOME releases occur every six months, delivering new improvements to our users as fast as possible. GNOME 2.12 includes several interesting new features and hundreds of bug fixes. These release notes demonstrate the changes in 2.12. If you are already familiar with GNOME, you might go directly to <link linkend="rnusers">What's New for Users</link> or use the other navigation links.
zh: 每隔六个月 GNOME 就会发布一个新版本，把新的改进尽快交给我们的用户去使用。GNOME 2.12 包含一些引人注意的新功能特性和许多问题的解决。本发布通告展示 2.12 的变化。如果您对 GNOME 非常熟悉，可以直接去<link linkend="rnusers">针对用户的更新</link>或者使用其它导航链接。

en: If you'd like to learn more about GNOME in general, including many of the qualities that distinguish GNOME from other computer desktops (like freedom, usability and accessibility), information about our community (including our great translation and quality teams), and pointers to many other sources of information, try our <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/about">About GNOME</ulink> page.
zh: 如果想要从通常的角度了解 GNOME，包括许多区别于其他计算机桌面（自由，可用性和易用性）的品性，我们社区的相关信息（包括我们的优秀的翻译和品质团队），还有其他成功信息的启示，试试我们的<ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/about">关于 GNOME</ulink>页面。

en: This release contains all the applications needed to provide basic user functionality, like system menus, file management, web browsing, and email. These pieces form the basis for a whole ecosystem of applications built on the GNOME development platform, including great applications like <application>Gnumeric</application>, <application>Abiword</application>, <application>the GIMP</application>, and <application>Inkscape</application>. These applications don't necessarily release on the same schedule as GNOME, and are not part of our 'core' desktop, so they are not covered by these release notes. To find out more about them and other great GNOME applications, check out <ulink url="http://gnomefiles.org">GNOMEfiles.org</ulink>.
zh: 本版本包含基本用户功能所必需的全部应用程序，例如，系统菜单，文件管理，Web 浏览，还有电子邮件。这些要素构成了 GNOME 开发平台上进行应用程序开发的一个完整生态系统的基础。还许多优秀的应用程序，例如 <application>Gnumeric</application>，<application>Abiword</application>，<application>the GIMP</application> 和 <application>Inkscape</application>，没有与 GNOME 的发布有相同的时间表，也不是我们的“核心”桌面，所以它们在本发布通告中并没有涉及到。如果要知道更多优秀的 GNOME 应用程序，请看 <ulink url="http://gnomefiles.org">GNOMEfiles.org</ulink>。

en: GNOME 2.12 includes all of the improvements made in GNOME 2.10. If you'd like to learn more about those, you can read the <ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/start/2.10/notes/">GNOME 2.10 release notes</ulink>.
zh: GNOME 2.12 包括了 GNOME 2.10 中所做的全部改进。如果要了解它们，可以阅读<ulink url="http://www.gnome.org/start/2.10/notes/">GNOME 2.10 发布通告</ulink>。

en: GNOME is part of the GNU Project, and is proud to be and to support <ulink url="http://www.fsf.org/philosophy/free-sw.html">free software</ulink>.
zh: GNOME 是 GNU 项目的一个部分，是<ulink url="http://www.fsf.org/philosophy/free-sw.html">自由软件</ulink>。

en: Known Issues
zh: 已知问题

en: All software, when it is released, contains bugs the developers know about but have chosen, for a variety of reasons, not to fix before releasing. Free software is no different in this regard from proprietary software, except that with free software, we tell users about these problems.
zh: 任何软件在其发布之时包含了了一些开发者已知的 BUG，但因为各种原因，未能在发布之前修正。自由软件在这方面和专利的软件没有什么不同，但不同的是我们会让用户清楚的了解这些问题。

en: We also encourage our users to report bugs so that they can be fixed. The best way to report bugs found in GNOME is to use the <ulink url="http://bugzilla.gnome.org/simple-bug-guide.cgi">Simple Bug Guide</ulink>. This will take you through the necessary steps to file a quality bug report, and make sure that it is tagged appropriately. If you're too advanced for anything with the word 'simple' in it, there is also the <ulink url="http://bugzilla.gnome.org/enter_bug.cgi">traditional bug form</ulink>. More details on bugs already reported can be found at our <ulink url="http://bugzilla.gnome.org/">Bugzilla</ulink>. Among the most prominent GNOME 2.12 bugs:
zh: 我们鼓励我们的用户报告错误，以便修正它们。在 GNOME 中最好办法就是使用<ulink url="http://bugzilla.gnome.org/simple-bug-guide.cgi">简单的错误指引</ulink>。它将引导您完成填写一个合格的错误报告，确保错误被正确地标识。如果您已经非常熟悉“简单模式”中所有内容，那么也可以访问传统的<ulink url="http://bugzilla.gnome.org/enter_bug.cgi">传统的错误表单</ulink>。对于已经被报告过的错误的详细信息可以在我们的 <ulink url="http://bugzilla.gnome.org/">Bugzilla</ulink> 上查看。其中和 GNOME 2.12 相关的问题如下：

en: List of known issues
zh: 已知问题清单

en: The 'open terminal' action has been removed from the Nautilus right-click menu, in order to improve manageability and default usability. If you miss it, we recommend installing <ulink url="http://manny.cluecoder.org/packages/nautilus-open-terminal/">the Nautilus open-terminal plugin</ulink>, which not only restores 'open terminal' to the nautilus menu, but actually makes it better by opening the terminal in the directory in which you are browsing.
zh: 为了提升可管理性和默认状态下的可用性，“打开终端”的动作已经从 Nautilus 的右键菜单中删除了。如有想要的话，我们建议安装 <ulink url="http://manny.cluecoder.org/packages/nautilus-open-terminal/">Nautilus 的打开终端插件</ulink>，它不仅仅恢复 Nautilus 菜单的“打开终端”项目，更好的地方是它可以在您正在浏览的目录中打开终端。

en: Looking to GNOME 2.14 and Beyond
zh: 展望 GNOME 2.14 和更远的版本

en: GNOME operates on a time-based release schedule, an attempt to continuously provide the best of our developers' efforts to users as quickly as we can. The following features are on the radar of GNOME developers and may land in the next few releases.
zh: GNOME 的运作按照一个基于时间的发布计划，这是为了尽可能快的把开发成果提供给我们的用户。下面的这些功能特性已经进入 GNOME 开发者的视线中，很有可能会在下一个发布版本中出现。

en: Support of the <ulink url="http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/bonjour/">Apple Bonjour</ulink> standard for detection of services on the network, potentially via <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Software/Avahi">Avahi.</ulink>
zh: 支持 <ulink url="http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/bonjour/">Apple Bonjour</ulink> 标准，以探测网络中提供的服务，也有可能是通过 <ulink url="http://www.freedesktop.org/Software/Avahi">Avahi</ulink> 来达到这个目的。

en: Support of the <ulink url="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caldav">caldav</ulink> open calendar services standard in Evolution.
zh: 在 Evolution 中支持 <ulink url="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caldav">caldav</ulink> 开放日历服务标准。

en: Use of <ulink url="http://people.redhat.com/dcbw/NetworkManager/">Network Manager</ulink> to give all network-aware apps intelligent behavior in the face of network connection and disconnection.
zh: 使用<ulink url="http://people.redhat.com/dcbw/NetworkManager/">网络管理器</ulink>为所有支持网络的应用程序提供所有网络连接和断开的接口。

en: Consolidation of gtk and gnome libraries to ease development and deployment of GNOME applications, via <ulink url="http://live.gnome.org/ProjectRidley">Project Ridley.</ulink>
zh: 通过 <ulink url="http://live.gnome.org/ProjectRidley">Project Ridley</ulink> 合并 gtk 和 gnome 库，让 GNOME 应用程序的开发和配置更容易。

en: Increased usage of new rendering infrastructure to improve looks and usability, for example, by integrating it with <ulink url="http://www.stellingwerff.com/?p=5">Clearlooks, our new default theme.</ulink>
zh: 增强新渲染基础部件的使用，促进外观和可用性，例如把它整合入<ulink url="http://www.stellingwerff.com/?p=5">我们新的默认主题，Clearlooks</ulink> 中。

en: For further information, see the <ulink url="http://live.gnome.org/RoadMap">GNOME roadmap</ulink> on our wiki.
zh: 更多信息请参看我们的 wiki 上的 <ulink url="http://live.gnome.org/RoadMap">GNOME roadmap</ulink>。

en: Getting Involved
zh: 参与

en: The core of GNOME's success is its many volunteers, both users and developers.
zh: GNOME 成功的关键在于其众多的志愿者、用户和开发者。

en: As a user, your contribution can be as simple as filing good bug reports. You can file bugs in our Bugzilla using the <ulink url="http://bugzilla.gnome.org/simple-bug-guide.cgi">simple bug assistant</ulink>. If you want to contribute more, you can join our active <ulink url="http://developer.gnome.org/projects/bugsquad/">bug-squad</ulink>.
zh: 作为一个用户，您的贡献可以像填写 BUG 报告一样简单。您可以使用我们的 Bugzilla 中的<ulink url="http://bugzilla.gnome.org/simple-bug-guide.cgi">简单的 BUG 助手</ulink>来填写 BUG。如果您想做更多的贡献，您可以加入我们的活跃的 <ulink url="http://developer.gnome.org/projects/bugsquad/">BUG 中队</ulink>。

en: For developers, there is much exciting progress to be made in any of our active developer groups - Accessibility, Documentation, Usability, Translation, Web, Testing, Graphics, and Desktop &amp; Platform Development. Here is a <ulink url="http://live.gnome.org/JoinGnome">guide to help you get started</ulink>.
zh: 对于开发者来说，还有许多令人兴奋的东西等待我们去开发。例如在易用性，文档，可用性，翻译，Web，测试，图形设计，以及桌面和平台开发。这里的有本<ulink url="http://live.gnome.org/JoinGnome">能为您的开始助一臂之力的手册</ulink>。

en: Helping on GNOME can be an incredibly satisfying experience, allowing you to meet a wide range of motivated, skilled, and helpful people all working towards a unified goal. Join us today and see what a difference you can make.
zh: 在帮助 GNOME 的过程中，可以让您获得难于置信的，充满满足感的体验。它可以让您的能力最大限度的得到激发和锻炼，可以和朝统一目标努力的人们一起前进。快加入我们来发掘您的潜能吧。

en: Credits
zh: 鸣谢

en: These release notes were assembled by Murray Cumming, Davyd Madeley, and the GNOME community.
zh: 本发布通告由 Murray Cumming, Davyd Madeley 以及 GNOME 社区收集整理。<ulink url="http://www.gnome-cn.org">GNOME-cn.org</ulink> 组织翻译。
